Navigate Up
Sign In

AAMU Board Extends Trustee Search for Dist. 3

Bookmark and Share

Huntsville, Ala. ---- In an effort to maintain a transparent search for an upcoming vacancy, the Alabama A&M University Board of Trustees is extending through March 27, 2013, a call for nominations to those in Alabama Congressional District 3 to fill an expiring seat, according to Odysseus Lanier, president pro tempore of the board. See official Pro Tem's Letter.


The nominating committee of the Alabama A&M University Board of Trustees will submit three names for the vacancy for the expiring term (January 31, 2013) of Trustees James Montgomery (Congressional District 3). This means that the committee will forward three names for the Governor’s consideration for the upcoming vacancy.


Interested persons are urged to submit (1) a nomination letter; (2) a resume; and (3) support letters through one of two available methods. The first method is via the University’s website at Persons without access to the Internet or e-mail may submit information via hard copy to the Board’s attorney (Rod Steakley) at Sirote & Permutt, ATTN: Ms. Alicia Ford, 305 Church Street, Suite 800, Huntsville, AL 35801, (256) 518-3607; Fax: (256) 518-3681. All materials must be submitted by 5 p.m. CST on Wednesday, March 27, 2013.


The nominating committee is seeking “forward-looking, service-oriented and committed” leaders to further the University’s instruction, research and extension missions. The nominating committee consists of one member from the Alabama A&M University Board of Trustees; one member of the Alabama A&M University family selected jointly by the Faculty Senate and the Staff Senate; the president of Alabama A&M University’s Student Government Association; a representative designated by the president of the Huntsville-Madison County Chamber of Commerce; a member of the Madison County Legislative Delegation as selected by the delegation; the president of the Alabama A&M University National Alumni Association; and a community representative selected by other members of the nominating committee.


District 3 Nomination Form

Map of Districts


The following requirements are applicable to those that apply or are nominated to serve on the Alabama A&M University Board of Trustees: Must be a resident of Congressional District 3, as constituted on September 5, 1975; cannot be an employee of Alabama A&M University, other than the Faculty Senate president; cannot be a member of the Board nominating committee; cannot be a member of the governing board; cannot be an officer of any public postsecondary educational institution; and cannot be an elected or appointed official having the power of review of the Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University budget, other than the Governor.


For additional information, please contact the Office of the Board of Trustees at (256) 518-3607 or


Office of Marketing and Public Relations
Alabama A&M University
P. O. Box 1027 (303 Patton Hall)
Normal, AL 35762-1027
(256) 372-5654
(256) 372-5034 (Fax)
Jerome Saintjones,, (256) 372-5607
Shirley Alexander,, (256) 372-5607
Interns/Bi-Weekly Students: (256) 372-5625