Navigate Up
Sign In

AAMU SUMMER PROGRAMS 2017

SummerScene.JPG

                

AAMU Child Development Center Summer Camp

CONTACT: Marvetta Allen, (256) 372-5437, marvetta.allen@aamu.edu

Target:  Elementary

Description:  Provides scheduled field trips, extracurricular and enrichment activities during the summer.  Other activities include bowling, skating, movies and swimming.

Deadline: Call

Age Range:  2-9 years of age

Capacity:  40

Dates:  May 30-July 21

 

Action Kids Camp

CONTACT:  Janet M’mbaha, (256) 372-8268, janet.mmbaha@aamu.edu

Target:   Elementary

Description:   In-state students at the elementary level

Deadline:  Call

Age Range:   Elementary

Capacity:    60

 

Alabama Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (ALSAMP) – Summer Bridge Program

CONTACT:  Theresa McCants, (256) 372-7027, jeanette.jones@aamu.edu, theresa.mccants@aamu.edu

Target:  High school/first-time freshmen

Description:  Residential program

Deadline: Call

Age Range: 

Dates:  June 12-July 23

Capacity:   5

 

ALSAMP Community College/4-Year College Bridge Program

CONTACT:  Theresa McCants, (256) 372-7027, jeanette.jones@aamu.edu, theresa.mccants@aamu.edu

Target:  College

Description:  Residential program

Deadline: Call

Age Range:  Upperclassmen

Dates:  July 10-14

Capacity:   10

 

ALSAMP Undergraduate Research Program

CONTACT:  Theresa McCants, (256) 372-7027, jeanette.jones@aamu.edu, theresa.mccants@aamu.edu

Target:  College

Description:  Residential program

Deadline: Call

Age Range:  Upperclassmen

Dates:  May 30-July 28

Capacity:   4

 

China: Exploring Forestry and Environmental Conservation

CONTACT:  Yong Wang, (256) 372-4229, yong.wang@aamu.edu

Target:  Upperclassmen

Description:  Students will travel to China and learn about forestry practices there as well as about the pressing environmental issues that China faces and how it is dealing with them.

Deadline:  Call

Age Range:  Upperclassmen

Capacity:  15

 

Costa Rica/Honduras Programs

CONTACT: Zachary Senwo, (256) 372-4216, zachary.senwo@aamu.edu

Target:

Description:

Deadline:  Call

Age Range:

 

DOE-NNSA Summer Research

CONTACT:  Satilmis Budak, (256) 372-5894, satimis.budak@aamu.edu

Description:

Deadline:  Call

Age Range:

 

Forestry Research Apprenticeship Program

CONTACT:  William Stone, (256) 372-4248, william.stone@aamu.edu

Target:  Underrepresented and underserved communities

Description: A 20-day residential camp designed to recruit quality students and foster interest in forestry/fire careers and related disciplines.

Deadline:  Call

Age Range:  First-time Freshman

Capacity:  15

 

GSSR Summer Camp Program

CONTACT:  Charnetta Cole, (256) 372-7150, (256) 372-7150, (256) 372-8301, charnetta.cole@aamu.edu,

valerie.mcduffie@aamu.edu

Target: 

Description: 

Deadline:  Call

Age Range:  Middle School, High School, First-time freshmen

Capacity:  30

 

High School STEM Experience

CONTACT:  Gerald Vines, (256) 372-5574, gerald.vines@aamu.edu

Target:  In-state high school students

Description:  This program introduces high school students to various STEM disciplines via activities within each engineering program.

Deadline:  Call

Age Range:    High School

Capacity:  20

 

Physical Facilities

CONTACT:  Mark Rogers, (256) 372-7223, mark.rogers@aamu.edu

Target:

Description:

Deadline:  Call

Age Range:

 

Physics Research Experience for Undergraduates

CONTACT:  Padmaja Guggilla, (256) 372-8141, padmaja.guggilla@aamu.edu

Target:  Undergraduates

Description:  A 10-week program that provides research opportunities for talented students with limited or no access to basic research in science and engineering.

Deadline:  Call

Age Range:  Undergraduates

Dates:  May 30-August 4

Capacity:  8

 

Pre-Freshman Bridge Program

CONTACT:  Gerald Vines, (256) 372-5574

Target:  First-time freshmen

Description:  Seven-day math camp aimed at refreshing skills prior to upcoming fall semester.

Deadline:  Call

Age Range:  First-time freshmen

Dates:  TBA

Capacity:  20

 

Property Management

CONTACT:  Jeff Robinson, (256) 372-8361, Jeffery.robinson1@aamu.edu

Target:

Description:

Deadline:  Call

Age Range:

 

REU

CONTACT:  Tiamxi Zhang, (256) 372-8106, tianxi.zhang@aamu.edu

Target:

Description:

Deadline:  Call

Age Range:

 

Summer School in Food Biotechnology

CONTACT:  Stylianos Fakas, (256) 372-4168

Target:  In-state

Description:  Lectures on basic concepts of microbiology, biotechnology, fermentation, lipids and biofuels; short research projects.

Deadline:  Call

Age Range:  High School

Capacity:  10

  

Summer Workshop/Intern Program (Nanostructures)

CONTACT:  Rami Bommareddi, (256) 372-8101, rami.bommareddi@aamu.edu

Target:  First-time freshmen

Description:  Design nanostructures for energy production and conservation and characterization. 

Deadline:  Call

Age Range:  First-time Freshmen

Capacity:  30

 

Teens & Tweens Conference

CONTACT: Kimberly Burgess, (256) 372-4585. burgeki@aces.edu, Kimberly.burgess@aamu.edu

Target:

Description:  Cooperative Extension

Deadline: Call

Age Range: 

Capacity: 

 

TRIO – Special Programs

CONTACT: Pamela Thompson, (256) 372-4702, pamela.thompson1@aamu.edu

Target:

Description:

Deadline:  Call

Age Range:  High School

 

Upward Bound/TRiO

CONTACT:  Brandon Harris, (256) 372-4709, Brandon.harris@aamu.edu

Target:  In-state high school students

Description:  The summer residential component is six weeks of academic instruction and cultural activities/events. 

Deadline: Call

Age Range:  High School

Dates:  June 1-July 31

Capacity:  104

 

(Send updates to public.relations@aamu.edu)

Office of Marketing and Public Relations
Alabama A&M University
303 Patton Hall
Normal, AL 35762-1027
(256) 372-5654
(256) 372-5034 (Fax)
 
Jerome Saintjones, jerome.saintjones@aamu.edu, (256) 372-5607
Debra Daniel
debra.daniel@aamu.edu,(256) 372-4767
Shirley Alexander, shirley.alexander@aamu.edu, (256) 372-5607
Interns/Bi-Weekly Students: (256) 372-5625