Sign In

Social Sciences

Bookmark and Share

Welcome to the Department of Social Sciences

The Department of Social Sciences is comprised of six academic disciplines. These are Political Science, Sociology, Criminal Justice, History, Philosophy, and Geography.

Mission and Objectives

In keeping with the mission of the University, the Department assists students in attaining: 

  1. a general acquaintance with the social sciences;

  2. knowledge of the subject matter and methods of Political Science and Sociology;

  3. an understanding of the global relationships and interdependence of all peoples;

  4. competence in analyzing and interpreting the complex problems of contemporary society; and

  5. preparation for employment and/or further study.

Program Offerings

The Department offers curricula leading to the Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science and Sociology and a Bachelor of Science degree in Criminal Justice. The Department also offers minors in Political Science, Sociology, Criminal Justice, History, Philosophy, and International Relations. Curricula leading to the Bachelor of Science degree in the School of Education with majors in Social Science and in General Social Science are also offered. Service courses in Political Science, Sociology, History, Philosophy, and Geography are taught by the Department.​


Contact Information

​Campus Location

Drake Hall - ​Room 2

P: 256.372.5330