Skip to content

Committee Members

About First Lady Abbiegail Hugine

Abbiegail HugineFounder & Committee Chair

Prior to making her mark on the campus of Alabama A&M University, Mrs. Abbiegail Hugine retired from Orangeburg Consolidated School District Five after a career in education. She had served as director of The Technology Center where she was an instructional leader and monitored and supervised all school operations.

It was partly owing to her stint at The Technology Center that she learned the importance of praise for outstanding service and a job well done. She would later expand these truths into her new role as first lady at a 140-year-old institution in Alabama. By the time Mrs. Hugine arrived to the campus of AAMU, she was already in possession of the tools she would need to lead a diverse team of men and women united by their love for the HBCU experience and their desire to sustain the university’s mission. 

Launching the Bulldog Pride Committee has been a labor of love for Mrs. Hugine as she has fostered relationships with students, faculty, and the community. Her commitment to the university and its growth has been shown time and again through her continued efforts and unwavering support. 


Mrs. Mary Hurt, Dr. Cynthia Smith, and
Mrs. Patricia Henderson
Adopt-a-Building Chairs

Mr. Langdon Conaway and
Mr. Gerald Vines
Campus-wide Beautification Chairs

Mrs. LaBrenderca Hughes
Customer Service Chair

Mrs. Elizabeth Sloan-Ragland
Publicity Chair

Ms. Diann Anderson
Campus Etiquette Chair

Dr. Vernessa Edwards
Fundraising Chair

Ms. Clarene Teague Johnson
Recycling Chair

Dr. Barbara Cady
Retool Your School & Normalite Walkway Chair