Skip to content
AAMU building with lake in front

AAMU At a Glance

A bill is approved in the State Legislature for the establishment of the Colored Normal School at Huntsville, a school devoted o the education of black teachers.
Peyton Finley introduces twin bills in the State Board of Education to establish 4 "normal" schools for whites and 4 for blacks. Dr. William H. Councill. a former slave, founded Alabama A&M University.
Institution moves to the first school-owned property on West Clinton Street (the land upon which Von Braun Center is now located) known as the Dement Place.
Name changes to State Normal and Industrial School of Huntsville; state appropriations increases to $4,000; building erected for industrial training through $1,000 grant from the Slater Fund.
Designation as a Land-Grant College of Alabama. School site becomes known as Normal, AL, and a post office is established. Students are called Normalites.
Name changes to The State Agricultural and Mechanical College for Negroes.
First honorary degree awarded.
Blues great, W.C. Handy, leaves as band director.
Service is Sovereignty motto introduced. Councill dies at 61. Walter Solomon Buchanan becomes president.
Football program begins.
First baseball game.
Theophilis Robert Parker becomes the third president
Joseph Fanning Drake becomes fourth president and institutes a massive building program.
State Board of Education gives authority to offer course work on the senior college level.
Name changed to Alabama A&M College.
Richard David Morrison becomes fifth president.
AAMU becomes fully accredited by the Southern Association for Colleges and Schools.
State Board of Education adopts resolution to change name to Alabama A&M University.
AAMU celebrates Centennial.
Volleyball for women begins. NCAA soccer championship.
Douglas Covington becomes AAMU's sixth president.
Carl Harris Marbury becomes seventh president.
The University holds its first Grand Reunion.
David Bernard Henson becomes eighth president. First AAMU Athletic Hall of Fame Induction held.
John T. Gibson is named ninth president. AAMU launches Councill Challenge Campaign. Football games return to campus. 
AAMU observes its 125th anniversary celebration.
AAMU's funding efforts earn it the distinction of lead institution in the Tom Joyner Foundation/HBCU program.
Robert R. Jennings becomes tenth president.
Andrew Hugine, Jr., becomes the eleventh president.
AAMU hosts 75th anniversary of Alpha Kappa Mu National Honor Society.
Erected the New Student Residence Hall