Skip to content

Meet the Staff

The staff of the Health and Counseling Services (HCS) clinic provide services to maintain and promote the physical and emotional health of AAMU students. To ensure optimal care is delivered, the Medical and Counseling staff are licensed professionals that continually receive professional development and apply the best of current health care practices along with the highest of clinical and ethical standards of care.

HEALTH & COUNSELING CENTER DIRECTOR

Photo of Carlquista Slay, LPC-S, NCC
Carlquista Slay, LPC-S, NCC
Interim Director
HCS
Email: carlquista.slay@aamu.edu

Medical Staff

Photo of Michael Johnson, MD
Michael Johnson, MD
Medical Director, Clinic Physician
HCS
Email: michael.johnson@aamu.edu
Photo of Vivian Hicks, MD
Vivian Hicks, MD
Clinic Physician
HCS
Email: vivian.hicks@aamu.edu
Photo of Rebecca Dickerson, MS, CRNP
Rebecca Dickerson, MS, CRNP
​Clinic Nurse Practitioner
HCS
Email: rebecca.dickerson@aamu.edu
Photo of Deshawnna Covington
Deshawnna Covington
Medical Services Specialist
HCS

Counseling Staff

Photo of Jessica Meyer, LPC, AADC
Jessica Meyer, LPC, AADC
Health Services Counselor
HCS
Email: jessica.meyer@aamu.edu
Photo of Vacant
Vacant
Health Services Counselor
HCS
Photo of Duane Larue
Duane Larue
Crisis Prevention Specialist
HCS
Photo of Tanisha Smith, ALC
Tanisha Smith, ALC
Health services counselor/Title iX Coordinator
HCS
Email: tanisha.smith@aamu.edu

Support Staff

Photo of Kathrine Hardin
Kathrine Hardin
Medical Receptionist
HCS
Email: kathrine.hardin@aamu.edu


FOLLOW US