Skip to content

AKAs Present Endowment Gift to AAMU

AKA present gift
August 18, 2021

Over $1.5 Million Presented to HBCUs

Local members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, recently presented AAMU with a $50,000 financial endowment. The endowment is part of the sorority’s nationwide effort to support historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs). 

In partnership with the AKA Educational Advancement Foundation, the Sorority has presented unrestricted endowment funds to HBCUs across the country, totaling $1.6 Million (

The AKA Educational Advancement Foundation presented unrestricted endowment funds in the amount of $50,000 to the following HBCUs: Alabama A&M University, Alabama State University, Bethune-Cookman University, Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science, Claflin University, Clark Atlanta University, Clinton College, Florida A&M University, Hampton University, Howard University, Interdenominational Theological Center, Jackson State University, Johnson C. Smith University, Meharry Medical College, Morehouse College, Morehouse School of Medicine, Morgan State University, Morris College, North Carolina A&T State University, Prairie View A&M University, Simmons College of Kentucky, Southwestern Christian College, Spelman College, Texas Southern University, Tuskegee University, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, University of the District of Columbia, University of the Virgin Islands, Virginia State University, Virginia Union University, Winston-Salem State University, and Xavier University of Louisiana. Receiving endowments of $12,500 were Bishop State Community College, Coahoma Community College, and Shorter College.

(Pictured l-r) Dr. Cheryl Davis, president, Epsilon Gamma Omega Chapter; Valencia Wilson, member, Gamma Mu Chapter; Dr. Archie Tucker, vice president, Marketing, Communication and Advancement; RaeVin Johnson, Gamma Mu Chapter president; Dr. Andrew Hugine, Jr.; Tonneshia M. Lewis, president, Rho Chi Omega Chapter (Madison, Ala.); and Kim Davis, grants coordinator/interim director of development, Marketing, Communication and Advancement.