Skip to content

President's Advisory Council Holds Inaugural Meeting, Prepares for Next

PAC Photos
September 15, 2022

October Meeting Scheduled







Huntsville, Ala. ---- The Presidential Advisory Council of Alabama A&M University, comprised of corporate and community leaders, former university trustees, state representatives and state senators, business and educational leaders and distinguished alumni, assembled on August 12, 2022, for this historic meeting with Dr. Daniel K. Wims, 12th President of Alabama A&M University. The President’s Advisory Council is a network of top community leaders who will provide strategic insight and industry expertise to assist in developing priorities, university and corporate partnerships, direction and advice on key university initiatives. 

Dr. Jeanette Jones, member of the Presidential Advisory Council and Senior Advisor to the President, presided.   President Pro Tempore of the Board of Trustees, Dr. Jerome Williams, brought greetings and thanked the members for their commitment and service to the university.   President Daniel K. Wims expressed his gratitude to Trustee Jerome Williams for his role in the establishment of the Advisory Council and shared his vision during his Presidential charge to the Council members,  noting that the Council will assist with advancing the University’s mission; boosting legislative activities; focusing on workforce   development;  and   meeting constituent needs through enhanced partnerships and relationships. In addition,  council members reviewed the University’s 2015-2025 Strategic Plan, “Into the Future”, the President’s Twelve Priorities, and the current organizational structure. 

The enthusiasm and desire to work on this Council was expressed by all members present as they came forth with numerous ways in which they could make meaningful contributions, enhance student engagement and learning, and provide advice to the president.  Several sub-committees were formed.  A sub-committee on bylaws and the operational structure of the Council includes Reverend Clinton Johnson, Mr. Michael Ford, and Dr. Elizabeth “Beth” Richardson. A subcommittee to build a catalogue of supporters designed to facilitate capital campaign fundamentals, the “Reimagining Campaign” and advancing the mission of the university will include Dr. Jerome Williams, Reverend Clinton Johnson, Mr. Michael Ford, Dr. Beth Richardson, Senator Linda Coleman- Madison, and Mr. Andre Taylor. A sub-committee focused on intelligence data-gathering methods for recruitment, and other institutional purposes will include Mr. Michael Ford, and Dr. Charles Nash.  A subcommittee on marketing/public relations includes Mr. Andre Taylor, Mrs. Boyte Presnell, and Dr. Jerome Williams. 

Members are recommended based on their expertise, experience, and engagement as key decision makers in their industry, and/or community leadership roles, interest or knowledge of issues in higher education and their willingness to work with the leadership. Members will serve on a rotating basis and may be appointed at any time during the year.   Dr. Wims thanked everyone for the level of cooperation and enthusiasm they displayed during the meeting.  The Council will meet three (3) times during the year to include a summer planning retreat. Dr. Tonya Davis, a professor in the Department of Social Work, Psychology and Counseling, assists Dr. Jones with all strategic planning for the Council.

The proposed structure and officers will be determined at the next meeting, which is scheduled for October 14, 2022, at 10:00 am.  Priorities and other subcommittees will be named.