Skip to content

AAMU Announces the Investiture Committee

February 07, 2022

Twelfth President of Alabama A&M University

AAMU Announces the Investiture Committee

In approximately twelve weeks, on Friday, April 29th, 2022, Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University will hold the Investiture of its Twelfth President. The Investiture of a president is a time during which the University officially welcomes and formally installs its new leadership. It is also a time during which the University’s tremendous strengths, strategic partnerships and opportunities for continued growth are highlighted. The Investiture also provides the president with an excellent forum through which to honor the legacy of the institution while articulating a vision for its future. It is within that context that we announce that the following dignitaries have agreed to serve on the Investiture Committee:


Dr. Jerome Williams

President Pro Tempore,

AAMU Board of Trustees, District 6



The Honorable A. Laura Hall

State Representative,

District 19

Honorary Chair


Dr. Jeanette Jones

University Distinguished


Faculty Senate President

AAMU Board of Trustees



Mrs. Felicia Wilson

General Manager

ARAMARK, Incorporated

Alabama A&M University



Dr. Kenneth Anderson

Ofice of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

City of Huntsville


Dr. Lynda Batiste

Interim Chief Financial Officer

Alabama A&M University


Dr. Bonnie Mcquitter Banks

Assistant Professor

College of Business and Public Affairs

Alabama A&M University


Mr. Malcolm Brasher


Staff Senate

Alabama A&M University


Mr. Everett Brooks

Epsilon Kappa Boule

Sigma Pi Phi Fraternity, Inc.


Dr. Horace Carney

Professor and Chair

Department of Visual and Performing Arts

Alabama A&M University


Mr. Marshall Chimwedzi

Director of Transportation

Alabama A&M University


Lieutenant Bobby Clarke

Office of Public Safety

Alabama A&M University


Mrs. Yvette Clayton


Career Development Services

Alabama A&M University


Reverend Dr. Larry Davidson, Jr.


Greater Huntsville InterMinisterial Fellowship


Ms. Kim Davis

Interim Director of Development

Marketing, Communication and Advancement

Alabama A&M University


Commissioner Violet Edwards

Madison County Commission, District 6

Madison County


Christie Finley


Huntsville City Schools


Reverend Troy Garner

Pastor, Fellowship of Faith;

Chaplain, AAMU Team


The Honorable Sam Givhan

State Senator, District 7


Mr. Tim Griffin

Xi Omicron Chapter,

Omega Psi Phi


Mrs. Abbiegail Hamilton Hugine

Saint John AME Church


Attorney Tiffany Johnson Cole

Secretary to the Board

AAMU Board of Trustees, District 3


Mr. Carlos Matthews

Board of Education

City of Huntsville, District 5


Dr. Kylie Nash

Interim Chief

Information Officer

Alabama A&M University


Chief Montrez Payton

Office of Public Safety

Alabama A&M University


Dr. Allen Perkins


Madison County Schools


Dr. Tonya Perry

Interim Associate Vice President for

Academic Affairs and Dean of Graduate Studies

Alabama A&M University


Mr. Ron Poteat

Regions Bank

Head of Customer Experience


Mr. Jeff Robinson

Director, Purchasing Department

Interim Director,

Department of Property Management

Alabama A&M University


Major Joseph Rucker

Executive Officer

Assistant Professor of Military Science

Alabama A&M University


Mr. Jerome Saintjones

Director, Office of Marketing & Public Relations

Alabama A&M University


The Honorable Martha Lynn Sherrod

Senior Attorney,

Conchin, Cole and Jordan


Mr. Brian Shipp

Director, Physical Plant Administration

Alabama A&M University


Mr. Austin Smith

Executive President

Student Government Association;

AAMU Board of Trustees


Mrs. Lisa Spencer

Executive Assistant

Academic Affairs

Alabama A&M University


Mr. Dale Strong

Chairman, Madison County Commission


Mrs. Sandra Stubbs

Director of Alumni Affairs

Alabama A&M University


Dr. Malinda Swoope

Special Assistant to the President for Strategic

Planning and Initiatives and SACSCOC Liaison

Alabama A&M University


Dr. Charlotte Teague

Interim Chair

Department of English and Foreign Languages


Reverend Dr. Terrance Vickerstaff

Vice President, AAMU National Alumni Association


Mr. Gerald Vines

Director of Graduate Recruitment and Enrollment

Alabama A&M University


Dr. Allen Vital

Interim Vice President

for Marketing, Communication and Advancement

Alabama A&M University


Ms. Erica Fox Washington, MS

Program Director and Acting Music Director


Alabama A&M University


Ms. Michelle Watkins

Board of Education

Huntsville City Schools, District 1


Dr. Roderick D. Watts

Vice President, AAMU Board of Trustees,

District 4


Ms. Tamika Williams

Graphic Design and Photography Professor

Alabama A&M University


Mr. Carlton Wright

Director of Bands

Alabama A&M University


Reverend Maurice Wright

Servant Pastor

Saint John AME Church



Each member of the Committee has accepted our request to serve the University by lending their talents, energy and support toward ensuring that the Investiture will be befitting of the ceremonial transition of leadership which has occurred since Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University’s earliest days. We extend our sincere gratitude to each member of the Investiture Committee for answering the call to serve. It is our hope that the Investiture will serve as a rallying point around which our various stakeholders may coalesce as we honor our rich legacy and step boldly into a reimagined  future.


Daniel K. Wims, Ph.D.