Skip to content

AAMU Names Associate Deans

associate deans
February 03, 2023

An Initiative Aimed at Retention

Alabama A&M University has named four associate deans to assist with the newly revised First-year Experience, Retention and Persistence Initiative started in Fall 2022. 

A pivotal initiative of AAMU President Daniel K. Wims, the program is designed to improve the experience of first-year students and to boost retention and persistence.  Each associate dean for student success will be assigned to one of AAMU’s four colleges (i.e., College of Agricultural Life and Natural Sciences (CALNS); College of Business and Public Affairs (COBPA); College of Education, Humanities and Behavioral Sciences (CEHBS); and College of Engineering, Technology and Physical Sciences (CETPS). Additionally, each Associate Dean will supervise two advising coordinators.

Approved by Provost John Jones, each associate dean was appointed by and will report to the respective college dean.  The appointees include Dr. Colmore Christian, CALNS; Dr. Tonya Perry, CEHBS; Dr. Padmaja Guggilla, CETPS; and Dr. Aretha Hill, COBPA.  They will provide “decisive leadership, creative thought and innovative skill-sets to energize retention practices at the college level,” said Dr. Jones.

Other responsibilities include:

  • Providing leadership for all academic initiatives related to student success at the College level to include management of critical administrative functions associated with scheduling, attendance verification and faculty hiring;
  • Monitoring academic advising in targeted program areas;
  • Maintaining a comprehensive scope of programs, activities and services to increase enrollment, student retention, persistence and completion;
  • Implementing best practices for retention and persistence developed generally for the University but specifically for the programs in the respective colleges; and
  • Assisting with selecting and monitoring student learning resources in the colleges and University.