Skip to content

AAMU Presidential Transition Team Announced

Wims Photo
November 15, 2021

AAMU Presidential Transition Team Announced

Dr. Daniel K. Wims, provost and vice president for academic affairs and research at Alabama A&M University (AAMU), has officially announced a Presidential Transition Team that will ensure a seamless transition of leadership as the 12-year Hugine administration comes to a close and the Wims administration begins. President-Elect Wims assumes the presidency on January 1, 2022.

The AAMU Presidential Transition Team is charged with designing and implementing a calendar of strategic and inclusive engagements designed to afford the University and the Institution’s external stakeholders a forum for reflexive and insightful exchange.

“I have tasked the Presidential Transition Team with ensuring that we communicate with every facet of the Alabama A&M University Family--students, faculty, staff and  administrators, as well as a broad range of multi-sector entities within the Greater Huntsville Community to listen and learn about their key plans, priorities, challenges and opportunities,” stressed Provost Wims. 

The Presidential Transition Team will continue to work with Wims on developing implementable strategies reflecting the University’s core values: student centerdness, excellence, integrity, engagement, customer service, global outreach, diversity and accountability. 

“I am committed to implementing the University’s Strategic Plan, while ensuring that Alabama A&M continues to preserve its cultural heritage and integrity as an historically Black College and University (HBCU) and a traditional 1890 land-grant institution,” asserted Provost Wims. 

An 18-member ad hoc presidential transition team will be led by Dr. Tonya Perry, interim associate vice president for academic affairs and dean of the School of Graduate Studies. Perry is joined by two co-chairs, Gerald Vines, director of graduate recruitment and enrollment and Dr. Kylie Nash, interim chief information officer (CIO). Dr. Jeanette Jones, trustee, Faculty Senate president, and University Distinguished Professor, will serve on the Presidential Transition Team as Special Liaison to the Board of Trustees.

Presidential Transition Team members were selected not only for their current positions and skill sets but also for their potential to offer unique perspectives, as well as beneficial contacts from the community and beyond. 
Presidential Transition Team
Chair: Dr. Tonya Perry, Academic Affairs, Interim Associate Vice President & Dean, School of Graduate Studies
Co-Chair: Dr. Kylie Nash, Information Technology Services, Interim Chief Information Officer
• Co-Chair: Mr. Gerald Vines, Academic Affairs, Director of Graduate Recruitment and Enrollment Management, School Graduate Studies
• Special Liaison to the Board of Trustees: Dr. Jeanette Jones, Academic Affairs, Faculty Senate President & Distinguished Professor, Biological & Environmental Sciences
• Mrs. Sandra Stubbs, Marketing, Communications & Advancement, Director, Alumni Affairs
• Ms. Ka’lisa Stanfield, Athletics, Assistant Athletic Director
• Mrs. Felicia Wilson, Aramark, Director
• Major Joseph Rucker, Academic Affairs, ROTC
• Mr. Jerome Saintjones, Marketing, Communications & Advancement, Director, Office of Public Relations
• Ms. Deja Strong, Former SGA Member/Undergraduate Student
• Ms. Aleisha Nesbitt, Graduate Student
• Mrs. Diann Greer, Student Affairs, Director, Student Activities
• Ms. Courtney Davis, Business and Finance, Interim Comptroller
• Dr. Malinda Swoope, President’s Office, Special Assistant to The President
• Ms. Lisa Spencer, Academic Affairs, Administrative Assistant, Office of The Provost & Vice President
• Dr. Charlotte Teague, Academic Affairs, Asst. Professor, Dept. of English and Foreign Languages
• Mr. Marshall Chimwedzi, Business and Finance, Director, Bulldog Transit System
• Dr. Jacob Oluwoye, Professor,Academic Affairs, Faculty Senate,Department of Urban and Community Planning 

“As a prelude to Dr. Wims’ inauguration, in spring 2022, the Transition Team, along with Wims’ immediate staff, will focus in upcoming months, on strengthening his external contacts by facilitating engagement with alumni and donors, local civic and community leaders, higher learning colleagues, and business leaders. This phase of engagement will be followed by internal engagement among AAMU constituencies,” according to Perry. 

President-elect Wims has hit the ground running, meeting with AAMU Alumni chapters and prospective donors throughout the country. In coming weeks, the Transition Team will launch an Inauguration website which will include the 12th President’s calendar of appearances, listening sessions and townhall events. Also featured on the Inauguration website will be an opportunity for students, faculty, staff and members of the community-at-large to share their ideas and suggestions regarding the presidential transition and the future of the University.

About AAMU

Alabama A&M University is a public, historically black, land-grant university located in Normal, a neighborhood of Huntsville, Alabama, United States which was established in 1875 by the formerly enslaved visionary, Dr. William Hooper Councill. AAMU functions as a teaching, research and public service institution, including extension. AAMU is the largest HBCU in the State of Alabama and one of the top 3 HBCU’s in the nation for the production of STEM majors. 

For further press/media inquiries contact: Jerome Saintjones, M.Ed., Ed.S. Director, Office of Marketing & Public Relations, Alabama A&M University. Email:, (256) 372-5607, (256) 372-5034 (Fax).